Recipe: Slow Cooker Sweet Potato and Lentil Soup

Valium used to be called “Mother’s Little Helper”. Today I would argue that that title should belong to the slow cooker. I made this recipe for Sweet Potato and Lentil Soup last night, except I modified it a bit to be even lazier and cut out some steps.

So basically, my modified recipe was:

  • 500g red split lentils (rinsed)
  • 8 c. water (or broth)
  • 2 small sweet potatoes (chopped)
  • 3 carrots (chopped)
  • 3 stalks celery (chopped)
  • 2 tsp curry powder
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 5cm piece of ginger (grated)

Then I put it in the slow cooker on high for 5 hours. It was quite tasty, especially considering how little work I put into it.

Leave a Reply

