Review: Baby’s First Black and White Book: Babies

We borrowed this from the library when RJ was about 2 months old. She was absolutely captivated by the pictures. There are about 2 words per page, which turned out to be unnecessary because I would just hold the book open in front of her face and let her stare at it while I held an adult book open in front of my own face and did my own reading. So we were reading together but, you know, reading books geared to our own interests (I was probably reading Bringing up Bébé).

This book is not entirely in black and white: the illustrations are all in the same vein as the cover. I think the important thing is that the graphics are high-contrast, because most people will tell you that babies can’t see colours for a few months after they are born. I was never around newborns before I had RJ so the visual development thing has been a surprise to me. I found it disconcerting at the beginning how her eyes wandered all over (didn’t “track”, as they say) and she often went cross-eyed. But apparently that’s normal. But I digress.

I would recommend this book, and there is a whole series of these black and white books that you can get in a boxed set. This is on my mental list of things I would buy someone for a baby shower.

One thought on “Review: Baby’s First Black and White Book: Babies

Leave a Reply

